CBDNA - New Works

Current New Works Committee

Sarah McKoin, Texas Tech University, Chair
Andy Mast, Lawrence University
Matthew George, University of St. Thomas
Chris Knighten, University of Arkansas
Damon Talley, Louisiana State University
Russel C. Mikkelson, Ohio State University

Related File: CBDNA.YBCC.EntryForm.2016.docx

$5,000 Prize.

Click link above for ENTRY FORM

Contest Information

1. This contest is an equal opportunity for all composers.

2. A qualifying entry must be an original composition for band which has been given its live premiere after January 1, 2017 (See #5 below). Entries must be submitted by the composer only, and not by an agent or publisher. Note: self-publishing composers may submit one of their own contest entries.

3. The composition should be an approximate Grade 3-4 level work of high artistic merit, conceived and constructed so as to be performed by middle/junior high school bands as well as high school bands of modest proficiency (see Representative Repertoire #14 below). The work should be written for full band instrumentation, approximately as follows: piccolo, flute, oboe, bassoon, Bb clarinet (2-3 parts), Bb bass clarinet, Eb alto saxophone, Bb tenor saxophone, Eb baritone saxophone. Trumpet (2-3 parts), horn (1-2 parts), trombone (2-3 parts), euphonium, tuba, and percussion (may include piano, keyboard instruments, and percussive instruments of a non-traditional nature).

4. Works should be approximately 6-10 minutes in length, although works of slightly shorter or longer duration will not be excluded on this factor alone. There is no limit to the number of movements, or style.

5. Entries must be submitted with a FULL SCORE and recording of good quality for the instrumentation indicated in the score. (*While recordings of actual human performances will be preferred, in extreme circumstances, sophisticated electronic realizations (MIDI) utilizing high-quality acoustic instrument samples will be considered).

6. The composer name MAY NOT appear on the submitted score or recording, and any mention of the name(s) of any commissioning group, institution, or members thereof should be omitted/redacted. Any entry received with any of these markings will not be accepted for evaluation.

7. It is preferable that entries be submitted online: https://goo.gl/forms/FI2gN7fh2TSzOOvL2
Please follow the instructions listed to enter your identification code on the score and recording. If you would prefer to send an entry via mail, please print the online form and complete, seal in an envelope, and fasten securely to the inside cover of the score. The recording can by on CD or flash drive and included in the package. Mailed scores/recordings will not be returned. Please mail to:
Damon Talley
Chair, CBDNA New Works Committee
Louisiana State University
292 Band Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803

8. All entries must be received by Nov. 15, 2017.

9. The identity of the winner will be announced during the College Band Directors National Association Forum held at the Midwest International Band and Orchestra Clinic in Chicago, December, 2017. Composers will be notified of the committees decision following the public announcement in Chicago.

10. The decision of the contest committee will be final and no correspondence may be entered into regarding the award. Should the committee consider none of the submitted compositions to be meritorious, no prize will be rendered.

11. All performance, copyright, and royalty rights remain with the composer.

12. A composer may submit only one entry per contest.

13. The winning composer will receive a $5,000 cash award.

14. Representative Repertoire and previous winners:
Alligator Alley Michael Daugherty
Cajun Folk Songs Frank Ticheli
and the Antelope Play John Carnahan
Foundry John Mackey
James Syler Wu Xing: Concertino for Two Percussion and Band

Home About CBDNA News/Events/Articles Teaching Music Connecting with Audiences Ideas Resources Discussion Threads Member Services Related links Contact Us